Condition your Makeup Brushes with one Simple Ingredient

Conditioning the fragile bristles/hairs of your makeup brushes may not be something that has crossed your mind. However, I have discovered that it is a must to help keep your beauty tools in tip top shape.

Have you ever realized that a few or more of your brushes seemed somewhat brittle or rough?

As I was doing my daily scroll of Pinterest I decided to search for different mixtures for cleaning makeup brushes. I noticed a pin that included using white vinegar. Well, I didn’t look at the full pin because I do not own white vinegar. However, when cleaning day arrived, I brought out the one ingredient that has proven its benefits among hair, skin, and the general health of the body.

WHAT IS IT:

Apple cider vinegar is a miracle ingredient. If you have an Instagram, Pinterest, and/or Facebook account, then I’m sure you have seen ACV flooding your news feed. I used to take a couple cap fulls a day mixed in water to help my body function in various ways. (I should start that back up again). Use one that is raw+unfiltered. Here’s a bonus fact. It’s only $4.09!

Since ACV is so powerful, I figured it would help to break up the hard to remove makeup, such as concealer and brow pomade.

HOW-TO:

I grabbed a mason jar and a Martinelli’s Apple Juice jar (clean of course). From there I put about two cap fulls of vinegar into both jars, filled them up half-way with water, replaced the tops, and gave both jars a good shake. Once I felt it was mixed sufficiently, I arranged my bigger brushes and blending sponges into the mason jar. The smaller ones went into the juice jar.

Allow your tools to soak for at least 30 minutes. I have allowed them to soak longer once before. No harm if you wish to do that as well.

After soaking, my brushes felt BRAND NEW! No exaggeration is happening here. I was highly impressed with the smoothness of the bristles/hair afterward. My ULTA blending sponges felt nicer than when I first purchased them. My brushes were softer than ever.

Two crease brushes
I received these in a ULTA beauty kit and they were not nice to use at first (VERY rough). I kept them just in case I needed a backup. After the pre-treatment, they felt amazing. Revive your old beauty essentials now. You’ll be so glad.

Take note: When you first take the brushes out of the mixture, it doesn’t seem as if the makeup has been broken down. However, once you add your cleaner (I used Johnson’s Baby Wash), the hard to remove product is significantly easier to wash off.

You can use apple cider vinegar+water as a pre-treatment before cleaning or alone whenever you just want to spruce things up. I suggest doing this at least once a week.

I love you guys and thanks for reading! Don’t forget to like, SUBSCRIBE and leave a comment below. Also, I would love to connect with you guys on social media.

Twitter+Instagram: @heartbreakbrody

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Crystal says:

    That is a really great tip!!! I have some acv at home and never thought about using it to clean my brushes. Thank you for posting this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem and thanks for reading 😊. Let me know if it works out for you💙

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

