BH Cosmetics 88 Matte Color Eyeshadow Palette Review

I literally spent months trying to decide which eyeshadow palette I would purchase next. I knew I wanted a nice sized, colorful, & inexpensive array of shadows. Also, I wanted great pigmentation without the chalky appearance. So, back and forth I went on BH’s site, Amazon, Makeup Geek, ColourPop, and plenty more. Reading tons of reviews was probably the most helpful in making this life-changing decision. Well, maybe not life-changing but I really needed a new palette so I could create new looks that I wouldn’t be able to otherwise.

bh-cosmetics-matte-palette

WHY I BOUGHT IT:

So, after comparing prices I decided to go with the 88 Matte palette from BH. The ratings were high, They ranged between 4-5 stars. Many people expressed how the pigmentation is awesome. Some even mentioned the shadows could compete with higher end makeup.

The reason I was so inclined to get a matte palette is because I have hooded eyes and matte shadows work best to create definition. Shimmer tends to enhance the hood if you don’t know how to work around it. I know how but I still wanted to test the basic mattes.

THE PRICE:

The palette was $12+$7.95 for shipping & handling. I say “was” because prices change on the site due to the many sales the company offers. I almost didn’t buy it due to the high shipping cost. I love to shop but I don’t like to spend money. I know it’s crazy. I’m so used to shipping being no more than $5.95 so when I saw the $7.95 rate I had to reevaluate my life. Obviously, I bought it.

DELIVERY:

It arrived within 3 days! I was so excited I received it so fast. Bravo for quick delivery!

THE CASE:

After rushing to get it out of the box I was immediately pleased by the sleek, smooth, & simple look of the case. It is black with white font. I value simplicity just as much as I value drama in a design. The case is plastic but seems durable. Although, I’m not going to test its durability. No, I will not purposely drop it on the kitchen floor. However, there is one thing I do not like. The palette attracts “stuff”. By stuff, I mean dust, noticeable fingerprints, lint, etc. I wiped it off with a wet paper towel, then a dry one, but it’s no use. It is certainly not a deal breaker for me. It’s just annoying.

WHAT’S INSIDE:

palette-mirror

So, I open it up and the colors are so beautiful. Colors range from browns, greens, blues, purples, & a few reddish shades. Don’t worry. It has a black. It also has a yellow shade which I have never owned but definitely wanted. There is a plastic covering for the shadows as well. The mirror is a nice size. I was so thankful for a mirror. A lot of palettes do not have one and I can’t understand that for the life of me. I am guessing this was added just for laughs but it does come with two applicators. Notice I did not say brushes. These are the applicators I would buy from the dollar store when I was a kid because I didn’t know any better. LOL!

eyeshadow-applicators

(and because I’m weird, I actually counted the number of eyeshadows to make sure there were 88, smh)

THE SHADOWS:

eight-eight-color-eyeshadows

The first thing I did was rub on some hand sanitizer and started making swatches. Pigmentation was on point & they felt velvety smooth. However, if you do not use an eye primer the pigment will begin to fade once you start to blend. When I tested the shadows with a primer the pigmentation kept a nice hold. Keep in mind there will be some fallout. When I am using this palette I try to remember to do my eyes first. The colors do blend well. Also, if you want to keep these shadows locked, use a setting spray after you are finished. When I used a setting spray it took a little more effort than normal to remove my eye makeup. I tested this theory, of course, and went through a full day without setting spray. There was a little fading towards the end of the day and my makeup was removed with a couple swipes of a wipe. One last note. I noticed once I started adding different colors and blending, there was a slight chalkiness. It is not too noticeable so it wasn’t a deal breaker for me.

RECAP:

  • Affordable
  • Beautiful variety of colors
  • Velvety smooth texture
  • Great pigmentation  (use a primer to keep it that way)
  • Fallout (do your eyes first)
  • Fades towards the end of the day (use a setting spray)
  • Slight chalkiness

MY RATING:

My overall experience was satisfying. When I consider the value I received for the price, I am happy. I would definitely recommend this palette to someone tight on a budget that wants good quality. I have been able to create some good looks with these shadows and I will showcase them soon. I do see myself ordering from BH Cosmetics in the future. If this review was helpful please comment and like.

smokey-eye-using-a-matte-palette-by-bh-cosmetics

I love you guys and thanks for reading!

BUY:

BH Cosmetics 88 Matte Color Eyeshadow Palette

CONNECT: 

Don’t forget to connect with me on social media.

Twitter: @heartbreakbrody

Instagram: @heartbreakbrody

Snapchat: @jmcraebeauty

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Hayley Wells says:

    I really enjoyed this review! H x

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Great! I’m really glad. Thanks so much for reading : )

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you liked it! Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

