ELF Cosmetics Moisturizing Lipstick: send me a nude

Well, helloooo everyone!  I am back to give another opinion and I have to say it feels good to write a review again.  If you haven’t already, check out the previous post to find out why I’ve been away.

Now that pleasantries are out of the way, let’s get back to business.  I was on the hunt for a nude lipstick.  When you see something a million times you start to think that you need it as well.  From Snapchat, Twitter, and Instaspam…I mean Instagram, I was bombarded with pictures and videos of nude lips!  I was never really into nudes before.  Deep, bright color was always my thing when it came to the lips at least.  However, when your favorite beauty influencers continue to polish their pout and speak a little more softly so you’ll pay more attention to their lips, you start to become a little fascinated.  Am I the only one who’s noticed this?  I’m sure I’m not.  Please tell me you can relate lol.

So, on to Target I go to find something that I’ve never had the desire to find in the past.  Of course, I’m not going to spend a lot of money, so, I head to the section of one of my favorite brands.  I’ll give you a hint as to which one it is.  Hint: It’s E.L.F Cosmetics.

(By the way, can I just state that I actually already have a nude from the NYX Cosmetics Liquid Lingerie line but I never really thought of it as a nude.  It’s a grey toned beige color named “Honeymoon“.  Go check it out and let me know what you think in the comment section.  Do you consider it a nude?)

Anyway, the lipstick that I grabbed is only $3.  Party in my wallet!  Funnily enough, the color is called “Party in the Buff”.  Now I chose the moisturizing lipstick because quite frankly I have enough mattes.  There’s no harm in switching up for one little lipstick.

light makeup look with featured lipstick

E.L.F Claims:

  1. Satin texture
  2. glides on
  3. vibrant color
  4. luminous shine
  5. Enriched with shea and vitamins A, C, & E to nourish + hydrate
  6. Rich creamy formula seals in moisture for long-lasting wear

Once I arrived at home I was so excited to try it out.  I applied it and I hated it.  I really really hated it.  Although the color was pigmented, which is a plus, the shade was too light.  It didn’t feel like it was moisturizing my precious lips.  I genuinely thought my lips were nice and smooth beforehand but obviously not enough for this product.  If you had seen me at that time you would’ve thought I had been in the desert for two weeks without balm.

However, all was not lost.  After a good month, I decided to try it out again.  I first made sure my lips were scrub-a-dub-dubbed.  Then I allowed Carmex to prepare my pout while I did a light makeup look.  Before applying Party in the Buff, I wiped away the Carmex, slightly added a darker liner ( “Willow” by Wet n Wild ) for contrast, and surprising I loved it lol.  Sometimes you just have to give things a second chance.  It glided across the skin, felt velvety smooth, and felt moisturizing.  Even the color grew on me.  I absolutely love it now as long as I take the necessary steps.  Keep in mind you may have to reapply after a couple hours but it’s a great nude for everyday makeup looks, just for running errands, or simply lounging around the house snapping (Snapchat) your life away.

wearing nude lipstick

I hope you enjoyed this review and also learned a valuable lesson about giving second chances.

Buy E.L.F Cosmetics Moisturizing Lipstick

If you enjoyed this post please like, comment, and/or subscribe.

As always, I love you guys and thanks for reading!

Don’t forget to connect with me on social media…

Snapchat: heartbreakbrody

Twitter: @heartbreakbrody

Instagram: @heartbreakbrody

-Heart Break Brody

Leave a Reply

